Karate Belt Examination

For the karate belt exams, the requirements are given below. When training for higher belts, a higher quality of the required movements is expected. Attention is then payed to stance, balance, speed, effectivity and kime (focus and power).

Karate (Wado-Ryu)

7th Kyu: Yellow belt

6th Kyu: Orange belt

5th Kyu: Green belt

4th Kyu: Blue belt

3rd Kyu: Brown belt

2nd Kyu: Brown belt


FA special part of the karate belt exams is formed by the katas. A kata is an individual exercise consisting of a series of fixed movements. For each belt exam you have to be able to perform one or more katas. Video’s of the karate kata in Wado Ryu style can be found here.